Mmm… Scampi and blogging

Hello! My name is Gina and I have a secret to share – I am madly, deeply in love. With food that is. I love baking, cooking, watching it on tv and wondering what I’m going to make for dinner. I think I like food more than the average person, and the spicier – the better. I grew up eating Korean food, and not till college did I experience things such as “pesto pasta,” “white enchiladas,” and my favorite – risotto. I lived in a sorority, so I didn’t have a chance to test my creative skills – minus making some mean salads. I worked in multiple restuarants in college, including two years at the Oceanaire Seafood Room. I started out as a hostess, and moved back into the kitchen as a food runner where I saw how the chefs cooked everything and also picked up some tips. I didn’t start cooking until after college, and I started out slowly – quesadillas, chili, salad – but I ate mainly cereal and cans of soup. Two years later, with inspiration from my domestically amazing roommate, I’ve ventured out and started making things like chicken parm, minestrone from scratch, and my random veggie stirfry. Tonight though, I tried something for the first time. SCAMPI.

My dad brought some fresh shrimp up from Mexico which was caught the morning he left. He deveined them, and sent them with me, telling me to put it into a sauce pan with some olive oil, salt and pepper. I thought I’d try to emulate the scampi I loved at the Oceanaire, so I looked up some recipes including Betty Crocker’s and Giada Di Laurentis. I decided on a mix between the two and went to Safeway today to gather the supplies. I found everything but fresh parsley. Instead of fresh parsley there were tubes of paste, which I referred to as “goop.” I heated up some olive oil, threw in garlic, green onions, the shrimp and mushrooms cause I love them, and put it all on top of whole grain linguine. I think the shrimp could’ve used more seasoning (or garlic but I don’t want to smell like garlic at work tomorrow), but my roommate and her boyfriend said it was good. All in all, I think it was a good experience and I’m excited for leftovers and this blog!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

