Home videos and Korean food

I’m currently at my parents house and watching video footage of my 6th birthday and making gingerbread houses with my best friend at the time. As hilarious as this is, it’s so mortifying to see myself as six years old! I don’t think I’ve ever seen such fluffy hair on a kid. Ahh well, good times and good to know to never anger my mom so she can’t show this to future boyfriends!!

I’ve had a nice relaxing weekend at home and have partaken in some DELICIOUS food. For those of you who don’t know, I’m Korean and grew up only eating Korean food. My mom makes the best Korean food in the world. While I was home she made kim-chi soup.

Mmmm... Kim-chi chi-gae

It’s one of my favorite things in the world. Every time I come home, I eat a pots worth to myself. At least it’s low-caloric! It’s really easy to make, cut up some kim-chi and cook it in water. You can also add things like bacon, tofu, or my fave – steak.

My mom also made me gal-bi, which is Korean short ribs.

The sole reason I will NEVER be a vegetarian

If you have not yet had the heavenly experience which is Korean bbq, I suggest you take the rest of the day/evening off and find your nearest one! Korean bbq, besides kim-chi, is what Koreans are best known for!

My mom and I also went to a tea place called The Porcelain Rose where we enjoyed some vanilla coconut tea and desserts. We had chocolate decadence, which was good but rich.

Chocolate decadence

And a German hazelnut cake called.. Cuckan or something like that.

Hazelnutty goodness

I’m not sure the name of it, but it was so good! I think it was puff pastry with hazelnuts and some sort of sugar or syrup mixed in. Whatever it was, it was one of the best things I’ve ever ate and I am going to figure out how to make it!

My mom also made an eclair, but I’m a bit embarrassed by how much of it I’ve eaten in the past few days, so there will be no pictures of that. It’s really easy to make though. Place graham crackers at the bottom of the dish, layer with a mixture of two packs vanilla pudding plus 8 oz Cool Whip, put more graham crackers on top, layer one more time with the pudding mixture, then put one last layer of graham cracker on top. Top that with chocolate frosting that’s been heated in the microwave for one minute and let cool. It’s easy and really delicious! Question of the day – What’s your favorite dessert?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes, Cooking, Korean food, Restaurants

Leave a Reply

