Ice dancing and veggies

I should definitely be sleeping right now. Well, at least, attempting to sleep since I don’t usually fall asleep till about midnight. But now, I’m so addicted to the Olympics I’m watching Ice Dancing which, not going to lie, is a bit ridiculous. But I’m eager to find out who wins! Canada or US? Even though I love the US, I can’t help but want home country Canada to win. They need some more gold medals while they host the Olympics! But anyways… On to food…

My roommate and enjoyed a beautiful, sunny Seattle Saturday and wandered around Ballard this weekend. We were in dire need of coffee, and walked around for about 30 minutes to try and find a cafe that wasn’t Starbucks or Tully’s. Apparently Ballard is not like Fremont that seems to have a small cafe on every block, or maybe I just don’t know Ballard well enough. We ended up going to a cafe on, I believe it was Leary Way. I forget the name of it, but it was owned by a Japanese woman and served Stumptown coffee. Kelly and I had never had Stumptown coffee, but she had heard it was delicious, and it definitely did not disappoint!

Fat Kid Confidential

So pretty!

I’d definitely go back to that cafe, they had some pretty tasty looking pastries and goodies! They had a croissant sandwich that looked like it was from a shop in Paris. Definitely on my “to visit” list after Lent is over!

Tonight for dinner I made my usual grill/stir fry of chicken and veggies. Instead of using the frozen stir fry for Costco though, I chopped up my own fresh vegetables. It turned into “Gina has leftover veggies going to go bad, use them ASAP!” The ingredients were as follows: broccoli, a can of stewed tomatoes, grape tomatoes, fresh jalapeno, red pepper, red onion, cilantro and chicken breast.

Fat Kid Confidential

Mmm, delicious and fresh

I threw it over whole wheat pasta shells (originally was going to be whole wheat linguine, but I realized I didn’t have enough linguine so I used the shells) and this was the outcome:

Fat Kid Confidential

Yum!

Congrats to the Canadians! They just won. And now it’s time for me to head to bed. Question of the day – Your favorite Winter Olympic event?

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Pasta, Restaurants

Leave a Reply

