Korean tofu

…. Yeah I’m not so good at cooking it. It shouldn’t be that difficult, right? Cook some tofu, put some soy sauce dressing on it, should come out all nice and pretty, right? Wrong. At least, when I make it. When my mom makes it, it always comes out beautifully and is the perfect dish with some rice and kim-chi. But then again, my mom uses soy sauce, sesame oil, cooked sesame seeds, green onions/scallions, garlic and red pepper flakes (and no, not the kind you put on pizza). This is what it’s supposed to look like:

Perfect

This is what mine turned out like:

Fat Kid Confidential

Umm... Yeah....

Two, big brown bricks of.. mashed soy. It actually tasted fine when I had it. Except, I didn’t have sesame oil so I used some olive oil, didn’t have sesame seeds, but hey, at least I didn’t have any stuck in my teeth! And I also didn’t have a green onion, but I grilled some veggies instead!

Fat Kid Confidential

Mmmm, yummy

I may not do the tofu so well, but I can make a mean pan of veggies! This was my break away from chicken and tilapia… Even though I’ve had a couple week break from tilapia. It may not be mom’s cooking, but it’ll hold me over for the next day until I can actually go home and get mom’s cooking!

*Good-looking Korean tofu picture credit goes to: Korean Food Recipe

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Disasters, Korean food

One response to “Korean tofu

  1. Pingback: Korean dinner redux « Fat Kid Confidential

Leave a Reply

