Buffalo Chicken Dip

In case you somehow missed it, this past Sunday was Super Bowl Sunday.  For the past seven years my friend Holden hosts a dip party – “Dip-A-Palooza.” Everyone who attends is required to bring a homemade dip, and a lot of these guys go all out. Last year a jalapeno popper dip won DAP, it was also my first year so I found out what standards the dip had to be up to. I asked around and looked at some dips online, got a couple recommendations, and my mom even faxed me some recipes for fancy dips. I decided on a buffalo chicken dip my friend had made for the Seahawks playoff game a couple of weeks ago.

The dip recipe I based mine on came from allrecipes.com. I definitely spiced it up a bit. Here is my recipe:

  • Two chicken breasts
  • Hot sauce
  • 1 cup ranch dressing
  • 2 packages cream cheese
  • 1 ½ cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • Cayenne chili
  • Chili Powder
  • Srirachi sauce

I first preheated the oven to 350, then cut up and cubed the chicken into pieces and put it in a large sauce pan. I poured ¾ cups of hot sauce over the chicken, and cooked the sauce into the chicken. After the chicken cooked, I took two forks and started to pull apart the chicken in the pan to create smaller pieces. I added in the cream cheese and ranch dressing and waited for the mixture to melt down. All throughout this process, I was shaking in the various cayenne and chili sauces, trying to make the dip as spicy as I could. When the dressing and cream cheese started to melt, I began to have issues. The dip was turning really oily, and the ranch looked like it was curdling. It was a kitchen nightmare. I continued to stir it in hopes of mixing in the oil, but more appeared! I finally gave up, threw on half the cheese, mixed it around, put it in a Pyrex bowl, topped it with the rest of the cheddar cheese and put it in the oven. When I took out the dip 10 minutes later, the oil was still there, but it rose to the top so I tried to blot it out. This continued to be a process, dip in the oven, take dip out, blot with paper towel, repeat. My friend Erick had the genius idea to mix in sriracha, not only did it make the dip spicy, it soaked up most of the oil!

I chopped up some celery and took it to the party. It turned out to be a huge hit! Everyone loved it. The spice kicked in at the end, so people were in for a treat. Cooking the chicken in the hot sauce was a great idea, as the chicken was juicy and really spicy. I ended up coming in 6th of 20, a title I was happy to take! The winner was a pecan chocolate cheesecake dip, which was argued to be a spread and ineligible, but the votes called it the winner!

There were a couple things I learned from this experiment:

  • Fred Meyer’s brand ranch dressing is disgusting
  • Chili pepper gives a kick at the, unlike other peppers which are spicy at first taste
  • Sriracha soaks up oils
  • Don’t wait until last minute for Super Bowl supplies, everyone else is at the grocery store for the same reason
  • Frank’s hot sauce will run out the morning of any major sporting event

I apologize for no pictures, but the way the dip turned out looking, I don’t think you’d want to see any if I did take them!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cheese, Chicken, Cooking, Disasters, Recipes

Leave a Reply

