Friday Treats

This weekend I’ll be celebrating the wedding of two good friends. And for once, I’ll actually be in the wedding! Though, as a groomswoman, standing on the grooms side. I’m so excited! The groom has a bit of Mexican heritage and the bride wanted to celebrate that and so the wedding has a slight Day of the Dead theme. I thought I’d add to that by making them Mexican wedding cookies for the rehearsal dinner last night.

Finished product

I got the idea from reading my new favorite blog Heart of Light. I read a post of her almond crescent cookies and she mentioned they were like Mexican Wedding cookies. Genius. I had to make them for my friends. You can find the original recipe here.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 lb ground almonds
Turn oven on to 375 degrees. Beat the butter until soft, then add powder sugar until fluffy. Beat in 2 egg yolks until well blended, then add the flour and ground almonds.

Almonds before...

Almonds being ground

When the dough is mixed together, you can either shape your cookies into crescents, balls, whatever your heart’s content. I went with crescents. Place on a greased cookie sheet.

Oven ready

Stick it in the oven until edges are brown. I did mine for about 14-18 depending on the size of the cookies. Let it cool before putting powdered sugar on it. No really, LET IT COOL. I was impatient (it was almost 11 PM and I was exhausted) so I put a cookie in powdered sugar and it turned into a slight gooey mess. Still delicious though. When cool, roll in powdered sugar or place in a plastic bag, add powdered sugar and shake up a storm.

LET THEM COOL!

Dan and his mom loved them though. I hope the bride and groom did as well!

2 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cookies

2 responses to “Friday Treats

  1. Many moons from now, if/when I get married, you’re in charge of the cake.

Leave a Reply

