White Chicken Enchiladas

I have never made enchiladas – apparently one of the few on Earth to never do so. In fact, I had never heard of  “white enchiladas” until I got to college and our cook made them. My friend and I planned to make dinner the other night and I was excited when I found a recipe from the America’s Test Kitchen cookbook from Cook’s Illustrated. The recipe was for green enchiladas and seemed perfect, until I got home and realized I left the cookbook at work. I find recipes online for free and I was keen on finally being able to use one of the books that I have spent my hard earned money on. Since that wasn’t going to happen, I decided to go through a few of the websites I like to read and find an enchilada recipe. I found one here at the Pioneer Woman.

Deliciousness

I’ve realized that I can make delicious dinners and yummy desserts, but I can’t seem do the simple things. Like you know, cook some plain chicken. There was a small issue of  filling my whole apartment with smoke and setting off the fire alarm, but what’s cooking without a few adventures. The smokey clothes and scaring of the neighbors were definitely worth it though.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon Vegetable Oil
  • 1 whole Large Onion, Diced
  • 12 Oz Whole Green Chilies, Diced
  • 1 whole Jalapeno Finely Diced
  • 2-1/2 cups Cooked, Shredded Chicken
  • 2 cups Chicken Broth
  • 1 teaspoon Paprika
  • 1/2 cup Heavy Cream
  • 2 tablespoons Butter
  • 2 tablespoons Flour
  • 1 cup Sour Cream
  • 2-1/2 cups Mexican Mix Cheese (Monterrey Jack and Cheddar) Grated
  • 12 Whole Corn Tortillas
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste

Turn oven onto 350 degrees. Heat 1 tablespoon canola oil in a skillet on medium heat, add onions and jalapenos and saute for aminute. Add chicken, half of the green chilies and stir together. Add 1 cup chicken broth, stir, then let simmer on low.

Filling goodness

In a separate large skillet, melt butter and sprinkle in flour. Whisk together and cook over medium heat for one minute. Stir in remaining chicken broth. Add in the other half of the chilies. Reduce heat, then stir in cream and sour cream. Add 1 1/2 cups grated cheese and stir to melt. Add 1/2 teaspoon paprika. Once well blended, salt and pepper to liking, try not and eat all the queso.

Cheesey goodness

To assemble the enchiladas, spoon chicken mixture on top of tortillas and roll up, place the roll ups side by side in a 9×13 casserole dish.  Top with plenty of cheese, both the melted and granted kind. Bake for 30 minutes and enjoy leftover queso with leftover corn tortillas while waiting for the enchiladas to bake.

After the enchiladas are finished, serve with salsa if desired and enjoy.

No such thing as too much cheese

Leave a comment

Filed under Cheese, Chicken, Mexican

Leave a Reply

