Dreaming of a White Christmas

Hello! I hope you all had a great holiday weekend. This one was a bit sad for me as it was the first one without my parents. Dan did a good job of cheering me up and letting me watch whatever ridiculous Christmas movie was on TV, even if we had watched it a few days before. I was going to attempt to make my first prime rib and Dan was going to make scalloped potatoes.

Word of advice, but I’m sure all of you are well aware of this – do not go grocery shopping on Christmas Eve or day. Instead of prime rib, I ended up with beef loin. I also ended up with horseradish root in place of regular horseradish sauce. Both were very good substitutes. Dinner turned out well and we even had a friend join us!

While I was sad to not be with my parents during my favorite holiday, it was nice to just stay around Seattle and relax for the weekend. I hope you all were able to relax and enjoy the holidays, family and good food!

Beef Loin Prime Rib *Recipe from here

Ingredients:

  • 4lb Beef Loin
  • 4 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Tsp Pepper
  • 1 Tsp Thyme

Mmmmm, tasty.

Christmas dinner in my new birthday present

Directions

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. In a roasting pan, place beef loin, fat side up. In a small bowl, mix together garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper and thyme. Spread the mixture on the top and the sides.  Let it sit out for about 20 minutes. Stick in the oven and let it cook at 500 degrees for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, turn the oven down to 345, and cook the beef loin for about 55 minutes to get temperature to 145.

Perfectly done roast!

 

Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment

Filed under Beef, Christmas, Cooking

Leave a Reply

