Chicken Noodle Stew

Whenever the weather turns cold I have huge aspirations of making lots of soup and slow cooker dinners. Obviously that never happens. We went to Costco the other night and bought a roasted chicken for dinner. I decided to use the leftover chicken meat and carcass to make a chicken soup for dinner the next day. Dan hates watery soup, so I tried to make it filled with lots of yummy things. I used less water than normal and used a whole bag of egg noodles. I only seasoned with salt and pepper because the chicken was already seasoned when we got it and I used the juices from the chicken to add to the taste. Also, I love to add some siracha to my soup. I love the little kick.

Chicken Noodle Stew

Ingredients:

  • Whole Roasted Chicken
  • 1 Bunch of Celery
  • 2 Carrots (more if you would like, I hate cooked carrots)
  • 1 Onion
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
  • 2 Bay Leaves
  • Water
  • 1lb Egg Noodles
  • Salt and Pepper

Chicken Mirepoix

Take the meat off the chicken carcass and set it aside, put the carcass in a pot. Slice the celery and carrots, then dice the onion and put them in the pot. Add the garlic cloves and bay leaves to the pot. Add enough water to the pot so it is barely covering the top of the ingredients. Bring to a boil, then let it simmer for 45 minutes.  Add back in the chicken meat and the bag of egg noodles. Salt and pepper to taste. Keep cooking until the noodles are cooked. Dish up and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

