Meatless Monday

Happy Monday morning! I hope you all had a great weekend filled with Super Bowl eating and snacking involved! We’ve been craving tacos for awhile, so I decided to change up our normal routine and make them meatless tacos! They can also be vegan if you choose to leave the cheese off. It being a long Monday, I was in desperate need of some cheese….

Mmmm, Tacos… I was too tired and too excited to eat, so yes, that is a chunk of cheese instead of grated cheese on my taco…

Black Bean Tacos

Ingredients:

  • 1 Can black beans
  • 1/2 Onion, chopped
  • 10oz Mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tomato, chopped
  • Lettuce
  • 1 Avocado
  • Tortillas (I like small corn ones)
  • Cheese (if preferred! Grated or not….)

Rice

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups of rice, in whatever medium you choose to cook it (I use a rice cooker)
  • 1/2 Tbsp Cumin seeds
Meatless Black Bean Tacos, Fat Kid Confidential

We actually only used one can of the beans…

Start cooking the rice, and add in the cumin seeds and let the rice cook.

Meatless Black Bean Tacos, Fat Kid Confidential

Mmmm onions

Heat up the olive oil in a pan and saute the onions until they are about halfway translucent. Drain the black beans, then pour them into the pan with the mushrooms. Cook the mixture until the mushrooms have cooked through and keep the pan on warm until the rice finishes cooking. Once the rice is done, pile up the taco with rice, the black bean mixture, tomato, lettuce, avocado, cheese and enjoy!

Meatless Black Bean Tacos, Fat Kid Confidential

Vegan taco-filling goodness

4 Comments

Filed under Meatless Monday, Mexican, Recipes, Vegan, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Meatless Monday

  1. Fantastic post however I was wondering if you
    could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Bless you!

  2. Here’s a great website about Meatless Monday: http://www.meatlessmonday.com/

    And its benefits: http://www.meatlessmonday.com/why-meatless/

    I am not an expert on this topic (and to be truthful I’ve been horrible at keeping meatless Monday the past few months…) but I will do more research and continue to blog about it.

    Thanks for visiting the site!

  3. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Many thanks, However I am having problems with your RSS.
    I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it.
    Is there anyone else getting identical RSS problems?

    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

  4. Good post. I learn something tltally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on
    a daily basis. It will always be exciting to read articles from other authors and use
    a little something from their web sites.

Leave a Reply

