Shin Ramyun

I work from home which is great in the fact that I can make my lunch everyday and I don’t have to bring leftovers to heat up in a microwave (not to say that I don’t do that all the time anyways). I’ve been craving ramyun for awhile, but we ran out a few months ago and finally replenished our stock on Monday. With the cold, gray, rainy weather we’ve been having lately, I thought the ramyun would be a great lunch the other day. I grew up eating Shin Ramyun, and it’s what I always go back to. The mix of the salty and the spiciness brings me back to my childhood and it’s my favorite thing to eat whenever I’m sick.

Shin Ramyun Pho Style

My parents always put an egg into the ramyun, and this time I thought I’d try to make it pho style with some veggies added to it, not just the dehydrated ones that come in packet. Though I have no qualms against those (ok, so I don’t think they’re actually that great (chewy if anything), but it’s second nature to put them in…)

Fat Kid Confidential

Mmmm, spicy goodness and and dehydrated vegetables

I chopped up the veggies and added them into the soup when I threw the noodles in. Bad idea, the noodles take much longer to cook than the vegetables. They came out really mushy and not that great. Next time I will definitely throw the bok choy and zucchini in at the very end when everything is already in the bowl. Other than that, this tasted amazing and I can’t wait to make it again!

Shin Ramyun with Vegetables

Ingredients

  • 1 Bag Shin Ramyun
  • 1 Bundle Bok Choy
  • 1/2 Zucchini
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Handful Mushrooms
  • 3 Cups Water

Bring water to boil. Chop up mushrooms, bok choy and zucchini.

Fat Kid Confidential

Mmm.. Veggies

Pour in the spicy packet, vegetable packet and noodles.

Fat Kid Confidential

God’s gift to mankind

Fat Kid Confidential

Soupy goodness

When the noodles are cooked through to a chewy, not mushy but not al dente consistency, turn off the stove and add in the mushrooms and drop in the egg to let it poach. Pour everything into a bowl, add the rest of the veggies and enjoy!

Fat Kid Confidential

Shin Ramyun, my favorite.

Leave a comment

Filed under Korean food, Soup

Leave a Reply

